Beginners Acting I: The Basics

at The Barrow Group Acting School - Hell's Kitchen

(48)
Course Details
Price:
$495 10 seats left
Start Date:

Mon, Sep 16, 11:00am - Nov 18, 2:00pm (10 sessions)

Next start dates (8)

Location:
Hell's Kitchen, Manhattan
312 W 36th St 3rd Fl
Btwn 8th & 9th Avenues
New York, New York 10018
(Map)
Share:
Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: Beginner
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 10
Teacher: Quinn Vogt-Welch

What you'll learn in this acting technique class:

This 10-week class is designed for the beginning/amateur adult actor, and will teach you the fundamentals of the craft. The class highlights quick and powerful ways to make your performance more natural and spontaneous. No experience is necessary. A great start for the beginning actor!

All exercises are designed to:
  • Encourage spontaneity.
  • Foster real human behavior.
  • Help you become more sensitive, imaginative, responsive and alive onstage.
  • Relax you.
  • Change your work effortlessly and invisibly (so the audience won’t detect any effort on
    your part and therefore will feel like they are watching a real person rather than an actor
    “working”).
  • Bring more freedom to your work.
Course Outline:
Week 1
  • Introductions
  • Syllabus/schedule review
  • Theatre Games
  • Theatre Terms
Week 2 & 3
  • Script Analysis
  • Short Scenes
Week 4 & 5
  • Set Building
  • Scene Analysis
Weeks 6, 7, and 8:
  • Scene Study
Weeks 9 and 10:
  • Monologues and wrap up

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
All payments are non-refundable.Full payment or a deposit of 50% is required in advance in order to secure your spot in a class. The remaining balance is due before the first day of class.

Map

Google Map

The Barrow Group Acting School

All classes at this location

Start Dates (9)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch 10 $495
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Sep 23 11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch
Mon, Sep 30 11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch
Mon, Oct 07 11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch
Mon, Oct 14 11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch
Mon, Oct 21 11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch
Mon, Oct 28 11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch
Mon, Nov 04 11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch
Mon, Nov 11 11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch
Mon, Nov 18 11:00am - 2:00pm Quinn Vogt-Welch
11:00am - 2:00pm TBD 10 $495
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Sep 24 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 01 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 08 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 15 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 22 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Oct 29 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Nov 05 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Nov 12 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
Tue, Nov 19 11:00am - 2:00pm TBD
11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary 10 $495
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Sep 25 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary
Wed, Oct 02 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary
Wed, Oct 09 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary
Wed, Oct 16 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary
Wed, Oct 23 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary
Wed, Oct 30 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary
Wed, Nov 06 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary
Wed, Nov 13 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary
Wed, Nov 20 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley & Blaire O'Leary
11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti 10 $495
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Sep 26 11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti
Thu, Oct 03 11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti
Thu, Oct 10 11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti
Thu, Oct 17 11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti
Thu, Oct 24 11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti
Thu, Oct 31 11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti
Thu, Nov 07 11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti
Thu, Nov 14 11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti
Thu, Nov 21 11:00am - 2:00pm Ron Piretti
6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen 10 $495
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Fri, Sep 27 6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen
Fri, Oct 04 6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen
Fri, Oct 11 6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen
Fri, Oct 18 6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen
Fri, Oct 25 6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen
Fri, Nov 01 6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen
Fri, Nov 08 6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen
Fri, Nov 15 6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen
Fri, Nov 22 6:30pm - 9:30pm Andres Petersen
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley 10 $495
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Fri, Oct 04 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley
Fri, Oct 11 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley
Fri, Oct 18 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley
Fri, Oct 25 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley
Fri, Nov 01 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley
Fri, Nov 08 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley
Fri, Nov 15 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley
Fri, Nov 22 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley
Fri, Dec 06 11:00am - 2:00pm Edward Stanley
11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier 10 $495
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sun, Oct 06 11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier
Sun, Oct 13 11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier
Sun, Oct 20 11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier
Sun, Oct 27 11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier
Sun, Nov 03 11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier
Sun, Nov 10 11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier
Sun, Nov 17 11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier
Sun, Nov 24 11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier
Sun, Dec 08 11:00am - 2:00pm Mark Grenier
2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan 10 $495
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Oct 09 2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan
Wed, Oct 16 2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan
Wed, Oct 23 2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan
Wed, Oct 30 2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan
Wed, Nov 06 2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan
Wed, Nov 13 2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan
Wed, Nov 20 2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan
Wed, Dec 04 2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan
Wed, Dec 11 2:30pm - 5:30pm Anthony Gillan
2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley 10 $495
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Oct 10 2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley
Thu, Oct 17 2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley
Thu, Oct 24 2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley
Thu, Oct 31 2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley
Thu, Nov 07 2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley
Thu, Nov 14 2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley
Thu, Nov 21 2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley
Thu, Dec 05 2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley
Thu, Dec 12 2:30pm - 5:30pm Edward Stanley

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 4950 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (5)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Question from Mathew G.
I would very much like to take this class, however, there are two consecutive sessions for which I will be out of the country working on a project. Depending on which start date I choose, the weeks I would miss could change, but no matter how I try to divide it, they all seem like important sessions. Would you still accept me in the class if I had to miss two sessions?
Answer from Brenda L. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi Mathew! The school has a strict no make-up or credits for missed classes policy. It would be best that you join the class where you can make it to the 10 sessions.
Answer
Cancel
Question from Divya d.
Hi, I'm not an aspiring actress but I would like to develop my speaking skills and to get over stage fright. Would this class be appropriate? Thank you!
Answer from Robert S.
Yes! We have a variety of students in our Beginner Acting Classes that take this class to further develop their public speaking skills (actor or not).
Answer
Cancel
Question from Anonymous
I'm not an aspiring actor but I do a fair amount of public speaking and want to develop the spontaneity and responsiveness on stage as described in the class outline. Is this the best fit?
Answer from Robert S.
This class offers weekly opportunities to get up in front of an audience, building your public speaking skills and spontaneity with written material. It's a great fit! -The Barrow Group School
Answer
Cancel
Question from anonymous
Hi, are there any beginner classes that are on a weekday (but not on a Friday!) in the evening?
Answer from Georgia C. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi there! At this time, the school only offer this class on Monday, Tuesday, Friday, and Sunday and unfortunately, we really can't say when will it be offered again. You can add it to your wish-list so you can be notified via email when new updates are made on the website.
Answer
Cancel
Question from william l.
Are there any make up classes? Or any future sunday classes? feb I have to be on vacation for 3 days. Will miss one week... Right now I sign up for other coursehorse classes... Was wondering if there is also 8pm class, I work 6 days a week with sunday off. 7pm I get off of work, can come at 8
Answer from Jenn C. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi! Unfortunately, there are no credits or refunds for missed classes. Commitment is for the duration of the sessions and if a student discontinues any class before the ending date of the session, they forfeit their fee. At this time, the school does not offer Sunday 8 pm classes for this course, but you might want to add this to your Wishlist so you are immediately notified by email once we add new dates and sections.
Answer
Cancel
View all 5 questions

Reviews of Classes at The Barrow Group Acting School (45)

(45 Reviews)
Beginners Acting I: The Basics
Reviewed by Anonymous on 9/6/2019
Farrah was a great teacher!
Beginners Acting I: The Basics
Reviewed by Anonymous on 3/23/2019
I lovelovelove Ron as an instructor. This was my second class with him, and I'm taking Beginners II with him as well.
Beginners Acting I: The Basics
Reviewed by Danny G. on 12/3/2018
Had a lot of fun. Teacher was passionate and classmates were fun.
Beginners Acting I: The Basics
Reviewed by Dustin H. on 11/23/2018
I had a great time and learned a ton! Mike was a very thoughtful teacher who helped indentify each students strengths or weaknesses, then build upon those.
Beginners Acting I: The Basics
Reviewed by Stephen O. on 6/14/2018
It was nice having the class with Ron And great experience, I love taking the next classes
loading...
loading...
Similar Classes

School: The Barrow Group Acting School

The Barrow Group Acting School

Founded in 1986, The Barrow Group is an award winning non-profit Off-Broadway theatre company, acting studio/school & arts center located in the heart of New York City.

The Barrow Group Acting School/Studio offers courses in acting and directing.  

These NYC acting classes include: scene study...

Read more about The Barrow Group Acting School

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Booking this class for a group? Find great private group events here