User Experience Design

at General Assembly - FINANCIAL DISTRICT

(2265)
Course Details
Price:
$3,950 8 seats
Start Date:

Mon, Oct 28, 6:30pm - Jan 27, 8:30pm (20 sessions)

Next start dates (5)

Location:
FINANCIAL DISTRICT
225 Bush St 5th Fl East Entrance
Btwn Sansome & Montgomery Streets
San Francisco, California 94104
(Map)
Share:
Important:
A computer will not be provided
No classes on Nov 11, 27, Dec 23, Dec 25, Dec 30, Jan 1 & Jan 20
Purchase Options
No Booking Fees Book Now Save to WishList

1 person saved this class

Give as a Gift
Description
Class Level: All levels
Age Requirements: 18 and older
Average Class Size: 20

What you'll learn in this ux class:

This is a part time course.

In this course, students learn to build wireframes, implement best practices for common design patterns and analyze business goals from a user perspective.

Unit 1: Design Process

Intro to UX & Design Thinking 
  • Explain course expectations in terms of pre-work, homework, projects, office hours, Schoology, etc. 
  • Define the elements of User Experience Design. 
  • Develop basic skills in creative problem solving, innovation, and human-centered design through a fast-paced design thinking activity. 
  • Sketch out potential design solutions to the problem you have defined.
Prototypes, Feedback, & Critique 
  • Practice adapting to rapidly changing stakeholder requirements. 
  • Create a paper prototype of your proposed solution. 
  • Present designs and justify design decisions.
Unit 2: Rapid Prototype

User Research 
  • Describe the skills required to conduct and recruit for an effective user interview. 
  • Define contextual inquiry and articulate its benefits. 
  • Prepare unbiased interview questions. 
  • Conduct an effective user interview. 
  • Draft a research plan and write a discussion guide for final project interviews.
Competitive Research 
  • Compare products in the same space or in adjacent industries, including competitive reviews and task analyses. 
  • Conduct competitive research to help inform your final project concept. 
  • Explore how surveys and task analysis inform research.
Synthesizing Research & Creating Personas 
  • Use research to create an affinity map that identifies trends and insights within your research findings. 
  • Articulate the benefits and shortcomings of personas as a design tool. 
  • Use research to create personas that reflect the target audience.
Defining User Goals & User Flows 
  • Effectively synthesize research into a problem statement and design direction that reflects the primary need of your target audience. 
  • Apply sketching techniques to ideate through solutions. 
  • Explore examples of how to map the flow of a specific product or experience. 
  • Construct a first draft of the user flow for the primary user goal for your final project.
Paper Prototyping & Usability Testing Basics 
  • Articulate the value of testing early in the design process. 
  • Apply paper prototyping techniques to iterate on your design concept. 
  • Practice formulating task scenarios and running usability tests.
Unit 3: Hi-Fidelity Prototype

User Stories & Feature Prioritization
  • Break down your user goals into more granular user stories. 
  • Use a common framework to prioritize features that align with your vision. 
  • Discuss struggles with feature prioritization and vision alignment and how to address them.
Information Architecture & Navigation 
  • Define the field of Information Architecture and explain when its techniques are used in a project. 
  • Explore methods for organizing complex and diverse types of content. 
  • Apply card-sorting techniques to structure and validate your proposed information architecture. 
  • Use card sorting results to construct a sitemap that will then become navigation.
Responsive / Native Design & Design Patterns 
  • Describe the respective technical capabilities of responsive sites and native mobile apps. 
  • Evaluate options and choose what format is most advantageous to your final project. 
  • Gain exposure to design patterns.
Wireframing 
  • Define best practices for wireframing and annotating. 
  • Use industry standard tools (Sketch) to create high-fidelity wireframes 
  • Download UI kits and discuss their role. 
  • Explain the difference between human interface guidelines, design principles, pattern libraries & style guides.
Visual Design Basics 
  • Explore principles of design and how they relate to digital interfaces. 
  • Learn to apply fundamentals of visual hierarchy, grid systems, and typography to give your final project UI more structure and clarity. 
  • Make visual hierarchy and typographic choices that enhance the appeal and clarity of your content.
High Fidelity Prototyping 
  • Identify and describe the different categories of tools for prototyping. 
  • Create clickable prototypes using InVision that will support usability testing goals. 
  • Discuss gestures and motion how they are commonly applied.
Advanced Usability Testing 
  • Prepare a discussion guide to test your final project. 
  • Run 3 usability tests using best practices. 
  • Synthesize your testing results and identify major takeaways from testing. 
  • Outline 3-5 improvements that you will make to your work.
Unit 4: Refine

Onboarding & Behavior Change 
  • Describe what makes a great onboarding/first time use experience. 
  • Practice designing an onboarding experience that communicates the value of your product to potential users. 
  • Learn about Nir Eyal’s Hooked model of habit formation and how it may be applied to the final project. 
  • Practice applying different types of variable rewards to final project concepts to create experiences that will keep users wanting more.
Final Project Workshop 
  • Receive instructional team feedback on your final project. 
  • Turn your project into a stakeholder presentation
Unit 5: Present

UX Mini-Project 
  • Practice going through real industry UX design problems from beginning to end. 
  • Work in teams or independently to develop design solutions for the industry design problem. 
  • Present your design solution.
Presentation Day 1 
  • Define and describe the principles that drive a strong user experience with search & results 
  • Identify the components of search & results, recognize their function, and how to use them effectively 
  • Review & evaluate examples of search & results 
  • Evaluate how the use of specific search & results components, in given contexts, enhances or detracts from the user experience 
  • Design a search experience that provides a strong user experience
Presentation Day 2 
  • Effectively communicate your design solution in final project. 
  • Critique and provide feedback for classmates.
Portfolios & Next Steps 
  • Explore examples of good UX portfolios and discuss the story aspect of portfolio building. 
  • Write the 5 most valuable takeaways from your project. 
  • Practice telling your personal story to different types of stakeholders. 
  • Identify next steps and receive project rubrics and grades.
School Notes:
For students enrolling in 12 week part time and immersive classes, it is not recommended that you book more than one class simultaneously.

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
If you can't make it to a class/workshop, please email us at [email protected] at least 7 days before the scheduled event date. No refunds will be given after this timeframe.

Map

Google Map

General Assembly

All classes at this location

Start Dates (6)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva 20 $3,950
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Oct 30 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Mon, Nov 04 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Nov 06 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Nov 13 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Mon, Nov 18 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Nov 20 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Mon, Nov 25 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Mon, Dec 02 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Dec 04 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Mon, Dec 09 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Dec 11 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Mon, Dec 16 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Dec 18 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Mon, Jan 06 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Jan 08 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Mon, Jan 13 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Jan 15 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Jan 22 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Mon, Jan 27 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
9:00am - 5:00pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva 6 $3,950
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Nov 05 9:00am - 5:00pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Wed, Nov 06 9:00am - 5:00pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Nov 07 9:00am - 5:00pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Fri, Nov 08 9:00am - 5:00pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Sat, Nov 09 9:00am - 2:00pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva 20 $3,950
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Dec 19 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Jan 02 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Tue, Jan 07 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Jan 09 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Tue, Jan 14 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Jan 16 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Tue, Jan 21 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Jan 23 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Tue, Jan 28 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Jan 30 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Tue, Feb 04 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Feb 06 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Tue, Feb 11 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Feb 13 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Tue, Feb 18 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Feb 20 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Tue, Feb 25 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Thu, Feb 27 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
Tue, Mar 03 6:30pm - 8:30pm Jarrett Coger, Nathan Bilbao & Jill DaSilva
6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao 21 $3,950
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Jan 29 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Feb 03 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Feb 05 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Feb 10 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Feb 12 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Feb 17 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Feb 19 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Feb 24 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Feb 26 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Mar 02 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Mar 04 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Mar 09 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Mar 11 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Mar 16 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Mar 18 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Mar 23 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Mar 25 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Mar 30 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Apr 01 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Mon, Apr 06 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
9:00am - 5:00pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao 6 $3,950
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Feb 25 9:00am - 5:00pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Wed, Feb 26 9:00am - 5:00pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, Feb 27 9:00am - 5:00pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Fri, Feb 28 9:00am - 5:00pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Sat, Feb 29 9:00am - 2:00pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao 20 $3,950
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Mar 05 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Tue, Mar 10 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, Mar 12 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Tue, Mar 17 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, Mar 19 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Tue, Mar 24 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, Mar 26 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Tue, Mar 31 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, Apr 02 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Tue, Apr 07 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, Apr 09 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Tue, Apr 14 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, Apr 16 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Tue, Apr 21 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, Apr 23 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Tue, Apr 28 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, Apr 30 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Tue, May 05 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao
Thu, May 07 6:30pm - 8:30pm Yi Ren, Jarrett Coger & Nathan Bilbao

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 39500 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (0)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Reviews of Classes at General Assembly (2,250)

Similar Classes

School: General Assembly

General Assembly

General Assembly is a pioneer in education and career transformation, specializing in today’s most in-demand skills. The leading source for training, staffing, and career transitions, we foster a flourishing community of professionals pursuing careers they love.

What began as a co-working space in...

Read more about General Assembly

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified SF educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Taking this class for work? Get exclusive perks & discounts for free.